Hands-Up How To – Empowerment Pendant

Merry Christmas my beautiful friend,

I just love Jamie Ridler’s project Hands-Up How To. It is a beautiful thing to share what you know with others, it’s something that I do whenever the opportunity arrises.

I have been lucky to have met many generous souls in my life who shared their knowledge and expertise with me freely, making it possible to avoid their mistakes and saving me precious time. These generous people have always loved what they were doing, seemed happy and were usually very successful.

I have also reached out for guidance or help and been turned down. From these people I got the sense that asking for their hard found knowledge was some how threatening to them. Interestingly, the people who were unwilling to share seemed afraid that if they did share it would somehow take away from their own opportunity. And in general I’ve noticed that these people are usually struggling.

I believe that we live in an abundant Universe and that there is enough pie for everyone. That it takes courage to ask for help or guidance and that by helping someone out you are embracing the belief in abundance.

It is with great pleasure that I share this little bit of my knowledge with you.

I hope you try this project and enjoy it. (BTW these make great gifts too)

How to make your own Empowerment Pendant necklace

If you chose a word for 2012 you may want to make yourself a beautiful necklace with your word to wear close to your heart. (If you haven’t chosen your word yet go here for more information on how to select your power word)

Supplies:

  • Wooden shape
  • Printed background image. I use images of my art for the backgrounds
  • Your word. I like to use aged paper to print it on **(see below for how to make your own aged paper)
  • Mod Podge, glossy
  • Paint brush
  • Scissors
  • Large paper clip bent open
  • Fine sand paper. I use a 320 grit sanding block. You can get this at home depot or online
  • Ice Resin
  • Round nose pliers
  • Chain-nose pliers
  • Wire cutters
  • 22 gage wire color of your choice
  • chain, leather or cord + clasps and jumprings
  • Paper piercer
  • Plastic. You can use a plastic sandwich back, trash bag or whatever

You should be able to find everything you need at Michael’s Crafts and/or JoAnne’s. (or online)

Instructions:

  1. Print out your background and your word.
  2. Cut the background paper slightly larger than the wood piece.
  3. Brush a thin layer of Mod Podge on one side of your wood pendant.
  4. Lay the pendant on the back side of the image so that the image is laid out where you would like it.
  5. Use your fingers to smooth out the paper making sure it’s aligned where you want it.
  6. Once it’s smoothed out and aligned take your scissors and trim the paper to fit.
  7. Use the sanding block and gently go around the edge of the pendant.
  8. Do the same thing to the other side.
  9. Cut out your word any way that is pleasing to you, lay it out on the pendant until you like how it looks.
  10. First remove word then brush a thin layer of Mod Podge on your pendant then place the word back where you want it.
  11. Add any other decorations you want, hand painting, glitter (my personal favorite), or whatever.
  12. Gently brush another layer of Mod Podge over the entire surface.*
  13. Once it’s dry brush Mod Podge on the back side as well.*

*Note: Once you think you’ve completely covered both sides thoroughly with Mod Podge do it again. If you do not completely seel the paper it will bleed or become saturated with the resin and it doesn’t look as good.

Once your pendant is decorated the way you want, carefully coated with Mod Podge and completely dry your ready to mix your resin.

Applying the Resin:

  1. Mix your Ice Resin according to the instructions. (instructional video link below)
  2. Lay out your pendant on the plastic making sure that it’s level.
  3. Pour a small amount of resin onto the pendant.
  4. Use the paperclip to carefully guide the resin to the edges. It will naturally form a little bit of a dome.
  5. Once you’ve covered the entire surface with resin cover your pendant leaving a crack for air. This is to make sure no dust gets onto the resin before it dries.
  6. Wait 24 hours for the resin to dry and then apply it to the back side of your pendant.
  7. Wait another 24 hours for the back to dry.
Now you’re ready for the final steps:

  1. Place your pendant on a cutting mat
  2. Using your Paper Piercer push a hole through where you want the wire or jump ring to go. I prefer wire. 
  3. Using your round nose pliers make a U shape in the wire leaving plenty of room to wrap the end.
  4. Put your pendant on the wire.
  5. Holding the wire, wrap the end around about three times.
  6. Add a bead if you like, I do:)
  7. Using your round nose pliers again make a circle and wrap the end.

You are now ready to add the chain or leather cord or what ever you decided to use.

I used a leather cord with a bead as a closure. I also added 12 little brass beads to symbolize 2012.

Viola! You have now made yourself a beautiful empowerment pendant. An amulet to remind you all year long what you want to invite into your life.

**How to make your own aged paper: Make a VERY strong cup of black tea, once it’s steeped pour it into a cookie sheet. Add regular printer paper and let soak for about an hour. Then VERY carefully remove the paper one by one and lay it out to dry. I lay wax paper on my patio tables and lay my ‘aged’ paper outside to dry. That’s it, easy as pie:)

Ice Resin video (I do not use a torch as shown it the video and have no problems with bubbles)

I had a lot of fun preparing this information and am inspired to share more with you in the New Year. Hopefully in video format.

Sending you love and light. XO

3 responses to “Hands-Up How To – Empowerment Pendant

  1. A generous soul knows that sharing and helping opens doors and windows — for the teacher and the student. To give when we feel most unsure is difficult and there are many as you said who refuse or simply cannot let go of what they know for fear of “loss”. It always saddens me when that happens. Thank you for sharing this tutorial Tia…you’ve explained this easily and clearly and this is the “one” that I am going to try. I’ve shied away from ice resin in the past. No longer!!!

  2. Pingback: How-To Posts That Give You a Hand Up in Your Creative Life

  3. Awesome post!!! I haven’t yet chosen my “power word” for 2012, but I’m thinking about it….
    Thanks so much for sharing this fabulous tutorial on making our own personal pendants!
    And yes….cheers to enough of the “pie to go around” …LOVE those words!
    Hope you’re enjoying the holidays!

Leave a comment