Making 2012 MAGICAL!!!! a little gift for you

Hello Lovely,

I am thinking about 2012 and I’m excited.  I’ve already begun planning AND taking some excellent action. I was inspired by Jamie Ridler’s post ‘Planning the Year Ahead’. Jamie walks us through her planning session with her sister. Think coffee shop, colored markers, sticky notes, calendars, new ideas, big dreams, etc… FUN.

I never make New Years resolutions anymore, while I am tempted to say YES I will definitely: workout more, eat only healthy food, give up sugar, bla, bla, bla (you fill in the blank). Inevitably I would always fall short at some point feeling like I’m undisciplined, lacking self-control, basically ending the whole exercise beating myself up. So for many years one year just rolled into the next, which is fine I guess. BUT… I really do like to dream, to scheme, to set goals, make plans and dogonit! I like to realize those dreams.

SO last year I heard about the idea of choosing a word. Just one word that would symbolize what I wanted my year to look and feel like. Since 2010 was an especially difficult year on many levels I choose the word ABUNDANCE to represent 2011. Besides choosing the word I didn’t do much more than keep it in the back of my mind, yet always remembering that it was MY word.

As it turns out 2011 was an ABUNDANT year. Not just financially, so many areas of my life felt abundant. My relationships, my creativity, my joy level and so on.


Dream boards from my Year of Dreams dream circle. These added a visual component to my idea of ABUNDANCE

I like to create a little sacred energy around choosing my word so I will invite some of my soul sisters over for our own little planning party. We will share our hopes and dreams, talk about how we can support each other and choose our words.

I wanted to share this idea with you. Maybe you want to give this a try this year?

WHAT WORD TO CHOOSE?

Many people know immediately which word resonates with them. For others, a little contemplation is required.

I’ve compiled a list of possible words below (of course feel free to add to the list). As you read through them, see if one stands out for you. Try to be intuitive about it, feel the word that has the most meaning or relevance for what you’d like the New Year to bring forth. It’s tempting to choose four or five, often more than one word feels very appealing. However I recommend really, really trying to narrow it down to one. It’s been my experience that when I just have one word, one theme for the year that somehow the Universe taps into that focus and aligns energy around the word/idea/desire.

If you can’t choose just one, narrow it down to no more than three.

One is ideal. It gives you focus. If you master that one word, you can choose another one in June.

I am wishing for you the most amazing 2012 you can imagine filled with your big dreams, love, friends, family, creativity and lots of joy.

I would love to hear what you think of this idea, if you’re going to give it a try and if YES what word you’ll choose.

I’ve chosen FOCUS for 2012

15 responses to “Making 2012 MAGICAL!!!! a little gift for you

  1. Hi Tia,
    I have chosen a word for several years now and it does make a difference in my life. The first year I chose sparkly because I wanted to make choices that would make my life sparkle and I did. This year I am choosing three words which could stand alone or work together. My words are Sparkling Positive Energy. When I have a decision to make I will ask myself does this add Sparkle to my life? Is it Positive? Does it give me Energy? Or does this add Sparkling Positive Energy to my day? I love working with Jamie. She definitely has added sparking positive energy to my life.

  2. Grace

  3. The word I have chosen is ” Wealth”.

  4. I´ve been doing this since 2008 and it is the first time I found my word so early (End of November). I learnt the hard way that somebody else´s word won´t work and that some are too overwhelming (awareness was driving me insane. Lol!) I also learnt that they can be powerful and lead to great things.
    I´m having great hopes for 2012. Looking forward to cybersharing the journey with you next year too. 🙂

  5. Okay – totally amazed and in love with this post! I wrote about something similar today. Power-word….hmmmm…..still thinking about that one. Empowered was my word for 2011.
    Off to check out Jamie’s post – love that girl!

  6. Thank you for the kind words! Empowered, what a wonderful word:) I hope you’ll share your 2012 when you decide what it is. xo

  7. What a wonderful list to ponder! This will be the second year I have chosen a word to do my best to live by & invoke in my life! I started thinking about my 2012 word a few weeks ago, and the first word that called out strongly to me was OPEN…and I have also been resonating with the intention of TRUST…which are both similar in the ways I am needing to manifest them in my life. Blessings to all on their continuing journey through the gift of life in 2012!

  8. ACTION – Hi Tia, this is a fantastic idea and I’m going to do it for the first time! My word is action, because I need to stop sitting by the wayside, waiting for things to happen. Thank you for bringing this to my attention 🙂

  9. My word for 2012 will be FULFILLMENT. A year when the dreams come true…

  10. gosh, i love your post because it’s made me realize just how simple it can be to gain focus with a word.. MY word! thank you for that little extra ::push:: and having that kind of clarity is just exactly the way i’d like to begin the coming year! – xo

  11. Im loving your idea.I just came from Sherrys blog and she mentioned you.This is a fabulous idea.Much more meaningful than resolutions,which I never did and never will.lol.Happy New year to you!I picked one word so far and that was fun.My girls are grown and my husband passed away 10 years ago so Im ready for fun times with who Im not sure but I cant wait.The next word would be Creativity,I have a bit of talent where art is concerned I love sketching so maybe i will pursue that a bit more.Again thanks for your idea its great!

  12. Great blog!
    I got LD’s Workbooks and Planners earlier this month and they are great fun, aren’t they? I’m still considering my symbolic word for 2013 … it may be Creative or I may have to choose two and make it Creative Potential. I think I need to make my first dreamboard too 🙂

Leave a comment